“Dull November brings the blast, then the leaves are whirling fast”

“Dull November brings the blast,
Then the leaves are whirling fast.” –
Sara Coleridge

Can you believe it? We’re here already. The clocks have gone back. The trees are gold. The woollies are unpacked. There’s that particularly festive bonfire smell in the air. Where did the year go?

As much as I mourn the passing of summer as the clocks fall back, this year it has been made slightly easier. As we didn’t have one! Instead I’ve been able to look forward to seasons that are guaranteed. Autumn and Winter!

I love the feeling of “fall” from this movie. In fact, New York features as the perfect backdrop to seasons in cinematography. One of my all time favourites, full of some of the best ever movie moments and quotes.

These are the seasons that make me want to decorate my house like you see in the movies. Surrounded by golden leaves, wellington boots on the porch and pumpkins.  Then as December arrives, filling the house with copious amounts of twinkle lights and poinsettias. Surrounded by comfort food, biscuits, mulled wine. It’s the time to gather friends and family around the table and enjoy feasts, share stories of summer, look ahead to the next year. It’s just a cosy, joyous time.

Source – Pottery Barn

So, what’s ahead for a humble housewife this month? Check out this list of cheer:

Start the Christmas Pudding

And this year I am so excited as I finally have in possession my Great Grandmother Witton’s infamous recipe.

Buy the Ham!

My Dad always buys me a ham (thanks Dad) that then gets frozen in preparation for Ham Day – December 24th.  You have to get the ham early or they’ll sell out of the good ones!  And don’t forget to defrost it for a couple of days before you plan to cook it or you’ll have a ham in the tumble drier situation (not recommended!)

Continue the Christmas shopping

Which can now also include food! Yay! Start gathering those nuts as they sell out quick. Giant tins of Cadburys. Tubs of twiglets. Let that inner squirrel run riot in the aisles.  Gather, gather, gather.  But also remember to ask loved ones for their lists!  And write to Santa quick as he’s getting busy!

Fireworks at the Billericay Fireworks Spectacular in Lake Meadows Park, Billericay, Essex by William Warby

Guy Fawkes Night – November 5

Every year I get excited about this beautifully English occasion, and yet every year I do nothing to celebrate.  And this year will be no different.  But to all of those who will attend local displays and to those lucky enough to have a big garden to put on their own – have a great time.  And one day, when I get to organise my own Guy Fawkes evening, I will endeavour, to collect together a gorgeous collection of recipes and party ideas that reflect the splendour of this national fete.

British Sausage Week 2012 – November 5  – 11

“Stand Up for the British Banger” – check out www.lovepork.co.uk

I don’t need an excuse for Bangers and Mash, but I’m always looking for inspiration for the weekly tea, so you be pretty sure what will be on the Batey table next week, accompanied by real onion gravy!

Last of the Autumnal garden tasks

I didn’t actually get to finish my October tasks, so now I have 20 tasks for this month.  Not good Claire!  But I really can’t imagine I need to do much in November, do I?  Well, I’ll let you know soon enough what we ought to be doing.  Hopefully it will say something like 1. Rake up some leaves, 2. Sit in the conservatory and enjoy a cuppa with a slice of cake and admire your handy work . . . but I doubt it.  There will be some digging in the rain to do I’m sure!

follow me on twitter @ahumblewife

3 thoughts on ““Dull November brings the blast, then the leaves are whirling fast”

  1. Hey Claire, I started reading this with a cold feeling, but this made me feel much better. Didn’t realise there were two types of bangers being celebrated this week too. Bangers and mash for me tomorrow night. 🙂 By the way, I hope we’ll be getting to sample your Great Grandmother’s infamous Christmas pudding. x

    • Hi Daryl. How did the Bangers and Mash Go? We had Toad in the Hole to celebrate and it was scrummy. Yorkshires and Bangers combined you just can’t go wrong. November isn’t all that bad. We have Xmas to look forward to. It’s nasty January that will surely be rubbish . . . but I will try to find ways to brighten that up for you too! x

  2. Hi Claire,

    Can’t go wrong with Bangers and Mash haha. Was nice thanks. Toad in the hole I agree, lovely. Need to do that again. Looking forward to more of your winter posts 🙂 Good luck getting those gardening tasks done in between the rain by the way. x

Leave a Reply

