Great-Grandma’s Christmas Pudding

Great-Grandma and me. I still have that cheeky smile to this day!

I am so happy to be able to post my Great-Grandmas Christmas Pudding recipe and I love that the cheeky devil includes Guinness as well as brandy.  Naughty.

I have followed the recipe to the letter. The only addition is that I soaked the fruit for a lot longer than she suggested, just for that little extra kick!

I haven’t made this recipe before and I can’t really tell you how it tastes as I now need to wait four weeks before I get to try it.  But if the aroma that filled the house is anything to go by, it should be bloody lovely! Thank you Nan.

Memories of my Great-Grandma
I have only two. The first is from when I was very young. She lived on a farm. And all I remember is going there during the Christmas period for a family get together and being crowded around an absolutely huge banquet table – Harry Potter Banquet Hall springs to mind. It may just be my memory, but it felt like I was dining with the Tudors, and there was a trifle and some sort of pink dessert that I oddly remember – I don’t know what that pink thing was. But it looked beyond retro!

It looked a little bit like this, but from memory, not quite as nice (sorry Grandma!) – but that’s due to my overwhelming confusion of what it was!

The second memory is from when I suffered from chronic sinus headaches as a little girl. Grandma was visiting, and I think she could see how sad I was. It was Christmas and we had a new Scalextrix. I so wanted to be whizzing cars round the track instead of feeling so poo.  So, she took pity on me.  She let me snuggle up alongside her and I remember how as I lay there, slowly my headache disappeared and I dozed off. Magic!

Anyway, onto the recipe.

Ingredients

  • 115g/4oz Shredded Suet
  • 60g/2oz Self-Raising Flour
  • 115g/4oz Bread Crumbs
  • 1tsp Mixed Spice
  • 1tsp Grated  Nutmeg
  • ½tsp Cinnamon
  • 225g/8oz Dark Brown Sugar
  • 115g/4oz Sultanas
  • 115g/oz Raisins
  • 285g/10oz Currants
  • 30g/1oz Ground Almonds
  • 1 Small Cooking apple (peeled, cored, finely chopped)
  • ½ Orange Zest (large)
  • ½ Lemon zest (large)
  • 2 Eggs
  • ¼ Pint Guinness
  • 2 Tablespoon Brandy
  • 30g/1oz Candied Peel
  • 1tbsp Treacle

 

The Method

  • The week before you’re due to steam, place the dried fruit in a bowl with the brandy.  Cover with cling film and leave for a week in a cool dark place.
  • The following week, on Saturday, add the fruit to a larger bowl along with the suit, flour, breadcrumbs, spices, sugar, ground almonds, apple and zest.
  • Beat the eggs together, and then add to the large bowl of dry ingredients along with the Guinness.
  • The mixture will be fairly sloppy.  Cover the bowl and leave overnight.

Stir-Up Sunday

  • Stir-up the fruit mix, and add the tablespoon of black treacle.
  • Spoon the mix into your pudding basin(s), cover with double greaseproof and foil, and tie with string.
  • Depending on the basin size, you will need to boil/steam for 3-4 hours.  When the steaming has completed, remove from the pot and leave to cool completely.
  • Next day, replace the greaseproof paper and keep until Christmas day in a cool, dark place.

Christmas Day

Steam again for about 1 hour to warm through, depending on the size of basin.

With this recipe, I have managed to make three mini-puddings (to give as gifts) and one large-ish pudding for ourselves.

8 thoughts on “Great-Grandma’s Christmas Pudding

  1. Lovely post Claire. Always nice, when something triggers those forgotten memories. That pudding sounds amazing. I think I’ll pass it onto my Mum, as she’d love it. I think it’s a bit too involved for my tiny little kitchen 🙂

  2. Pingback: “Dull November brings the blast, then the leaves are whirling fast” | ahumblehousewife

  3. Pingback: Julie’s Christmas Pudding | ahumblehousewife

  4. Hello Claire, this pudding sounds delicious – I’ve never heard of using Guinness in one before, it’s very interesting. I was wondering if you’d like to enter this recipe into our Gourmandize Giveaway recipe competition. This month the theme is apples so it would be perfect, and there are nice prizes to win – let me know what you think:

    http://www.gourmandize.co.uk/article-1-recipe-competition-for-the-best-apple-recipe.htm

    Regards,

    Laurence

Leave a Reply

