February is merely as long as is needed to pass the time until March

February is merely as long as is needed to pass the time until March.
– Dr. J. R. Stockton

February is here already.  How did that happen?

All of a sudden I should be over the winter blues, flipping pancakes, planning Valentine’s day, spotting spring bulb shoots, thinking about forthcoming summer holidays.  Ahhhhh.  It more or less took me by surprise.  And I normally love February.

But it’s the 12th.  And I’m only just writing this.  I’m almost 2 weeks behind.

pancakes retouched4

Shrove Tuesday

Today is Shrove Tuesday.  One of my favourite days of the year.  As it gives me the opportunity to indulge in cheesy deliciousness, as should you.  So check out my absolute favourite pancake recipe for Cheesy pancakes with ham and leeks.  You won’t be disappointed.

Valentine’s day

Then Thursday this week is Valentine’s day.  After last years Unmitigated Disaster, this year can only be better.  Although, apparently Newcastle are playing, so I think the romance may be on hold for a couple of hours during the evening.  Hmmmmm.  The sound of a “disappointed” wife (that’s worse than angry, if you don’t know!)  Oh well.  I will plough on.  Make a nice meal (tbc), and an overly romantic pudding (the to-be-continued element of last year’s disaster).

Talking of romance, love, and all that mushy stuff!

Here’s an opportunity for me to plug my friend Magda, who is an up and coming photographer.  She recently completed a family shoot, and I feel the result oozes love!  If you would be interested in a family shoot, check out her blog.  Here are a few of my favourites. 

Update 27/02/13: Magda has now posted a lovely film on the entire Baby Bump collection.  Be careful though, it will be bring a tear to the eye. 

Amanda, Tony, Ruby and little Baby Bump

Amanda, Tony, Ruby and little Baby Bump

Amanda, Tony, Ruby and little Baby Bump

Amanda, Tony, Ruby and little Baby Bump

Amanda, Tony, Ruby and little Baby Bump

February Domestics

What jobs do I have left to complete in the 16 days left of this month?

Well, I’m determined to clear out the kitchen cupboards.  I want to try to use up all of the old rubbish, that just sits there, festering.  It needs to be eaten.  So I’m going to come up with some random recipes to try to use the up the random can of Haggis and SPAM!!!!!

I’m also determined to start listing some of our rubbish on e-bay.  Those spare room cupboards need to be freed!

And the gardening will start again.  Last month I did nothing.  But it was January.  It snowed!  But this month I have some new pots to plant up.  Need to clean the garden up in general really.  And want to start thinking about getting it in shape for summer.  Hopefully we’ll have one this year.

And, we also have The Hairy Bikers to look forward to.  We’re going to see them in Dartford, Kent.  I’m not sure what they’re going to do live. But I’m sure it will be laugh.  Will have to write a mini review!

2 thoughts on “February is merely as long as is needed to pass the time until March

  1. Haggis comes in cans?! Oh My God! I never knew that. Here’s to a great what’s-left-of February. Hope all goes well tomorrow night too. 🙂

    • Yeah – Haggis, apparently also comes in cans, although I’m sure it’s not as good as the fresh stuff. Well, will let you know. I did the cupboard clear out yesterday to see what we have the needs eating, there was actually less than I thought. But I’m sure we’ll come up with a few good concoctions.

Leave a Reply

