It was one of those March days when the sun shines hot and the wind blows cold

It was one of those March days when the sun shines hot and the wind blows cold: when it is summer in the light, and winter in the shade.  ~Charles Dickens, Great Expectations

Spring Crocuses by Joan Walker (Northumberland Facebook Page)

Spring Crocuses by Joan Walker (Northumberland Facebook Page)

Here’s hoping, eh?  Because so far, I can’t see Spring getting here anytime fast!

But March is here, and there is hope in the air that the temperature may rise, and the sky may be blue once more.  Yesterday was looking particularly promising.

So, what does March have in store?

Dad’s Birthday

This week is the old man’s birthday.  He hasn’t had the greatest start to the year, so we’re going to spoil him.  We’re heading out for dinner.  We have a rather thoughtful gift – tip to follow as I know Dad’s are notoriously difficult to buy for so thought you might appreciate the idea; and we have a little surprise too.  More to come on that.  I’m very chuffed though!

Image from the Northumberland Facebook page.
Image by Paul Buxton: Hedgehope and Cheviot taken from the Beanly to Powburn

Northumberland

Hubby and I are off for a week in Northumberland to potter, watch football (that’s how much I love him) and visit family and friends.  Which should be fun.  Praying for good weather so we get to enjoy some of the beautiful countryside.  Fancy visiting Northumberland, check out this facebook page for the most beautiful collection of images.

Gardening

I suppose as I start to notice buds appearing on trees I should get back in the garden again.  No idea what I should be doing in March, so another top ten list of Gardening things to do coming your way!

A Humble Bake Challenge

I will be continuing my voyage of baking discovery with more Mary Berry and Paul Hollywood delights.  Not sure what yet, I’m thinking scones.

DSC_0065Easter

I love Easter.  I love the colours.  The pale yellows, the orange, the pinks, the blues.  Colour springs back into our lives as we wait for the forthcoming Summer.  And what better way to celebrate, other than too much chocolate, a Simnel Cake of course.  I will certainly be whipping up a batch of fruity, marzipany delightfulness.  Check out my recipe here.

Awareness weeks

And what about a good ol’ awareness week.  Well there’s a few good ones for March. Check these out:

National Butchers Week: Monday 04 March 2013 – Sunday 10 March 2013P1050885

Organised each year by the Meat Trade Journal. For more details visit www.meatinfo.co.uk

Concentrating on the independent butcher and highlighting the skills and expertise available to consumers on their doorsteps; they’re also going to be promoting Butchery as a female profession.  Apparently the number of female butchers is on the rise, but it’s an interesting point – I’ve never seen one!

British Pie Week 2013 Monday 04 March 2013 – Sunday 10 March 2013

For more information visit www.britishpieweek.co.uk

Need I say more?  Like you even needed an excuse for a good pie!

Leave a Reply

