Because it would have been a lie (part one)

You may or may not have noticed that I haven’t been blogging recently.  Well, I’m about to reveal why . . .

Because it would have been a lie.

I felt it would have been wrong to blog about what I was up to or what my plans were month by month, when in fact I couldn’t reveal what I was really up to.

But now, it’s time to reveal the truth.

our home up north title image

The Batey Masterplan – Part One

Relocation Relocation

We didn’t need Kirsty and Phil in the end.  Andy and I managed to do it all in just one May Bank Holiday weekend.

It was clearly meant to be.  Our house went on the market on the Thursday.  We had an offer at the full asking price on the Saturday, whilst viewing a house.  And then the next house we viewed, was the one.  Our offer was accepted on the Monday.

Now four months on, we’re finally in our new home.  In Northumberland!

See?  That was the problem.  I couldn’t say anything as moving from Essex to Northumberland meant that I had to leave my job.  But I couldn’t tell my employer until we exchanged contracts.  By which point I was too busy packing and saying goodbye to friends and family to write about it.  And then, since we moved in, it still seems to take an eternity to get connected to broadband.

So finally.  We’re here.  I’m back online.  And I can commence the blogging again.

And here’s our home.  In all its glory.  Our new home is in a small village called Stocksfield (more on that later).  I can’t say our home is a beauty.  But I think you’ll agree, it is a diamond in the rough.  It needs a lot of work, but I think it will be worth it.  The renovations pretty much started from the moment the removal truck left the drive.  Andy immediately started to remove internal walls.

So, here are the “before” pictures.  As the house was when we actually bought it.  Over the coming months I’ll be sharing our renovation stories and hopefully any tips we pick up in the process.

I hope you enjoy sharing our little adventure with us.  Oh, and part two of the masterplan? . . . watch this space!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

4 thoughts on “Because it would have been a lie (part one)

  1. OH my DEAR! What a wonderful albeit, STRESSFUL new adventure! God bless you and the family as you endeavor to make this place HOME.
    Looking forward to more as you make time to update….
    “old mOm in the States….”

  2. Pingback: The Big Batey House: a month on | ahumblehousewife

Leave a Reply

